What is EWS? EWS Full Form

The EWS Full form is “Economically Weaker Section

Its a subcategory of peoples who belong to the general category having an annual family income less than ₹8 lakhs and do not belong to any reserved category such as SC/ST/OBC in India.

On 7 January 2019, the Union Council of Ministers has announced a 10% reservation quota for the General Category candidates in government jobs and educational institutions who belongs to the Economically weaker section India

If a candidate who doesn’t belong to the reserved category recognized as SC/ST/OBC, PwD, etc. and his/her annual family income is above the ₹8 lakhs will be recognized as a candidate from UR category and not able to any form of reservation in India.

The definition of Economically Weaker Section (EWS) given by the Government of India, and it is different from Economically Backward Class (EBC).

Read Also What is UPSC?, UPSC Full Form, History, Benefits, Exams Lists

What is EWS Full Form in Hindi

EWS Full Form “Economically Weaker Section” है जिसका अर्थ है आर्थिक रूप से कमजोर वर्ग

यह उन लोगों का उपश्रेणी है, जो सामान्य वर्ग के हैं, जिनकी वार्षिक पारिवारिक आय 8 लाख से कम है और वे भारत में SC / ST / OBC जैसे किसी आरक्षित वर्ग से नहीं हैं।

7 जनवरी 2019 को, केंद्रीय मंत्रिपरिषद ने सरकारी नौकरियों और शैक्षणिक संस्थानों में सामान्य श्रेणी के उम्मीदवारों के लिए 10% आरक्षण कोटा की घोषणा की है जो आर्थिक रूप से कमजोर भारत के हैं।

यदि कोई अभ्यर्थी जो अनुसूचित जाति / अनुसूचित जनजाति / अन्य पिछड़ा वर्ग, पीडब्ल्यूडी, आदि के रूप में मान्यता प्राप्त आरक्षित वर्ग से संबंधित नहीं है और उसकी / उसकी वार्षिक पारिवारिक आय 8 लाख से ऊपर है, तो उसे यूआर (सामान्य वर्ग) श्रेणी से उम्मीदवार के रूप में मान्यता दी जाएगी है

What is Eligibility For EWS Quota

So here you come to know the eligibility for EWS quota, here we are sharing a list of eligibility for EWS quota in EWS full form topic here is your list

  • Your family income must be less than Rs 8 lakhs per annum.
  • Your family must not have more than 5 acres of agricultural land
  • The residential area must be less than 1000 sq. ft.

So these are some point to eligibility for EWS quota or EWS certificate.

Read Also ITI Full Form

How to Make EWS Certificate?

You can easily make an EWS certificate is you eligible for EWS, To get your EWS certificate to visit your local government authority (Tehsil office).

A government officer will verify your documents and issue your EWS certificate.

The certificate is called ‘Income Certificate’ and this is the proof that is required for EWS reservation, so we have provide this information in EWS full form Topic

What is EWS Certificate Validity?

In most of the states, EWS Certificate Validity is one year but you can check the validity of EWS certificate in the Department of Revenue website for your state validity

What is The Age Relaxation For EWS in UPSC?

The age relaxation for EWS category in UPSC exam is 32 Years for General and the same in Economically Weaker Section (EWS).


The age relaxation for Scheduled Caste/Scheduled Tribe (SC/ST) category in UPSC exam is 37 years (5-year relaxation)

The age relaxation for Other Backward Caste (OBC) category in UPSC exam is 35 years (3-year relaxation)


So, guys, I hope you have got what is EWS, EWS full form, Eligibility for EWS Quota, EWS Certificate Validity, and some other useful information about EWS, if you have any question about EWS comment below you question we will try to give you questions answer and thank you for visit this website

Leave a Comment